name np bg.png
Bannerphoto19.jpg
2A_KidneysLivePic.jpg
Rainbow promo 2.jpg
Mindy Raf Portrait-1-Digital.jpg
Screen Shot 2015-12-23 at 4.06.39 PM.png
Background 3.jpg
poly_and_a_pint_banner_New.png
name np bg.png

Intro


 

 

 

SCROLL DOWN

Intro


 

 

 

Bannerphoto19.jpg

Not The One


 

 

 

 

Not The One


 

 

 

 

REAL QUICK: did you know....

  • You can get updates on my critically acclaimed solo show NOT THE ONE: a love story here.

  • You can book me to perform and speak at colleges and events and find out more here.

  • I’m a published author, my young adult book The Symptoms of My Insanity was called “refreshing” by Publishers Weekly, and was a 10 Top Romance Fiction by Booklist.

  • You can sign up and receive emails that contain storytelling tips,inspiration links, marketing tips and tricks, and sometimes a hair selfie or two.

★★★★ THE EDINBURGH REPORTER "Barrier-breaking...inventive, sexually liberated (and liberating) one-woman show...cleverly conceived and engagingly kooky."

 ★★★★ ED FEST MAGAZINE "... cheeky and infectious. ...intensely loveable, painfully relatable humour. And her dive into the romantic story of how she met her significant other is almost as moving as her powerful message about bisexuality.

"THE SICK OF THE FRINGE “Raf makes a bold case for understanding how we are always all of our identities, and how these identities intersect, inform, challenge and support each other in exciting ways...pointed and important revelations about the challenging and absurd realities of the American healthcare system, Midwestern Jewishness and family, and marginalized sexual identities." 

THEATRE IS EASY Finally someone is bringing humor and—most importantly —normality to parts of the human psychology and emotional life that are far too often romanticized, or even fetishized.” 

NEW YORK TIMES HIGHLIGHTED AS “COMEDY IN NYC THIS WEEK” “modern love…sex, anxiety, coming out, polyamory, self-identity, queer culture and her relationship with the movie “Dirty Dancing.”

★★★★★ TIME OUT NEW YORK “The stand-up queen of self deprecation . . .LGBT Best Bet.”

EFFORT-LEZ "60 minutes of hilarity.”
HY REVIEWS “... a whole new level of comedy greatness. Raf delivers a performance so intimate and in-the-moment that it almost feels as if she’s revealing herself spontaneously...a star talent who demands attention." 

 GO MAGAZINE “In the midst of all of the terrifying political news out there, sometimes you just need to laugh it off. Mindy Raf brings audience members on a hilarious journey through life and death, polyamorous relationship struggles, anxiety, bisexuality, and sex positivity in her 60-minute performance.Raf had the audience in fits of laughter as she smoothly moved through her relatable and witty narrative of trying to figure it all out.”

 Josh Lefkowitz, Author/Poet "I'm still thinking about Not The One days after seeing...it was so funny and well-written and honest and real, and left me with this feeling of resolved incompleteness that the best poems do - thrown back out into the world, not knowing how it all is going to unfold, and somehow being okay with that…"

Mandy Evans Brown, Producer/Actress “So funny and really moving. Coming again, and I'm bringing friends."

Effy Blue, Relationship Coach/Speaker “I laughed and cried, and laughed and cringed, and laughed more, cried a little and then laughed and then it ended. And I was ready to see it again- for the 4the time.”

NoT The One: a love Story

Identity, Sex, Anxiety, Polyamory, Death...Mindy Raf dismantles the romantic comedy one intimate moment at a time.

After sold out runs at the People's Improv Theatre, and Off Broadway at 59e59 Theatre, Not The One made it's international debut at the 2017 Edinburgh Fringe Festival for a 26 show run at the Gilded Balloon. Now running monthly in NYC with shows at Cloud City, The Tank, & a current spring guest production run at TheaterLab.

Written and Performed by Mindy Raf

Directed by Tara Elliott

Produced (UK) Civil Disobedience Productions

Weed lube, throuple therapy, & one life-altering text message. With an open mind, heart, and vagina, Mindy Raf demolishes the romantic comedy and the roles we play in it. As Raf demystifies love, loss, and sexuality, she engages her vulnerable, razor-sharp storytelling style to face the complexities of modern love and leave us asking, “could I ever do that?” 

PAST shows:

Monthly Residency TheaterLab

March/April/May 2018

26 Show Run 2017 Edinburgh Fringe Festival

Gilded Ballon, Rose Theatre

Guest Production Cloud City

Novemeber 2018

Winter Guest Production Tank NYC

December- January 2018

Not The One is Raf's first collaboration with director Tara Elliott ('Shugs & Fat', Burq Off).

 
 
2A_KidneysLivePic.jpg

Press


Press

 

 

 

Press


Press

 

 

 

Rainbow promo 2.jpg

Stand Up


STAND UP 

Stand Up


STAND UP 

Weed LubE

Have you tried weed lube? Mindy has.

 

Not A Rye Girl

Pretending to be someone you're not, never fun.

Active Thruple

Being bisexual is hard, no it's not.

Higher frequencies

Mindy's mom knew she was queer before she did.

Mindy Raf Portrait-1-Digital.jpg

About


ABOUT

About


ABOUT

Mindy Raf is a comedian, actress, writer, musician and published author based in Brooklyn, New York. Mindy has contributed to MTV's GIRL CODE, COLLEGEHUMOR, TNT, VH1, The Daily Comedy Network, and the MY PARENTS WERE AWESOME anthology. Mindy's debut young adult novel THE SYMPTOMS OF MY INSANITY (DIAL/Penguin) is out now. Her comedy and writing have received accolades from BUST MAGAZINE (“we walked out holding on to our ribs from laughing so hard”), PUBLISHERS WEEKLY (“refreshing”), and BCCB (“pitch-perfect”), among others. She has been invited to perform at the Women in Comedy Festival, SketchFestNYC, NY Funny Songs Fest, SOLOCOM Festvial,and the Bridgetown Comedy Festival, where she was named a festival highlight performing as her popular musical comedy alter-ego Leibya Rogers. Her critically acclaimed solo comedy show NOT THE ONE: a love story was named an "LBGT Best Bet" by Time OutNew York, “hilariously quirky” by Theatre Is Easy, "Barrier Breaking" by The Edinburgh Reporter, and "cheeky and infectious" by Ed Fest Magazine. Not The One has played to a sold out run Off Broadway at 59E59, garnered 4 star reviews the Edinburgh Fringe Festival, and has sold out at Brooklyn's Cloud City, The People's Improv Theater, The Tank NYC, as well as its recent guest production residency at NYC's Theaterlab. Mindy also co-produces a monthly comedy show, Golden Spiral Comedy, the first Tuesday of the month at Dream Baby in the East Village.

Screen Shot 2015-12-23 at 4.06.39 PM.png

Social


Social

Social


Social

Twitter

Instagram

Background 3.jpg

Books


BOOKS

Books


BOOKS

“It’s kind of crazy how you can pay so much attention to yourself and still not see a thing.”

For fans of Louise Rennison, Sarah Mlynowski, and Stephanie Perkins comes The Symptoms of My Insanity, a laugh-out-loud, bittersweet debut by Mindy Raf full of wit, wisdom, heart, and a hilarious, unforgettable heroine. 


poly_and_a_pint_banner_New.png

Podcast Nav


Podcast Nav


 

POLY & a pint

 Poly And A Pint, started as podcast recorded live from the Edinburgh Fringe Festival by comedian Mindy Raf during the run of solo comedy show NOT THE ONE: a love story (formally titled Keeping My Kidneys). In these first 10 episodes, Mindy chats with fellow artists and fringe performers about monogamy, relationships, sex, jealousy, and life at the Edinburgh Fringe Festival. New POLY & A PINT episodes recorded in NYC will be out January 2018.